Various
This board is to host any non skyline related topics.

Been Learning Blender 2.8/2.9

Been Learning Blender 2.8/2.9

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 13 Sep 2020, 15:40

While I've done 3D modeling for quite some time, I am fairly new to Blender. Been dabbling in it, but not taking it too seriously. Then I decided to go through a complete tutorial, treating 3D as if I were a beginner, learning and unlearning (bad habits). I'll say this - Blender has changed a lot over the years. I used to hate it back with the old UI (v2.7x days) and refused to use/learn it. But since 2.8? Wow. What a difference. I actually love working in Blender now. Gotta love the price, too. ;)

So, here's my first completed project, from modeling, to material creation, to lighting and rendering, in Blender (from a tutorial offered on FlippedNormals):

It was a lot of fun. I learned a lot. And now I am back to being excited about working in 3D again.
Intel i9-10900K 5.10GHz, 64 GB RAM, Nvidia RTX 3090 ti 24GB, Windows 11 64-bit, dual monitor display
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Master

Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Been Learning Blender 2.8/2.9

Postby SolarPortal » 13 Sep 2020, 15:56

nice work m8 :)

i was an avid blender disliker on 2.7 and earlier with its horrible interface. 2.8 has changed that entirely and yeah being free cant argue haha :P But i suppose thats what happens when you get lots of large studios investing big bucks into a package lol.

keep it up!!... perhaps you will be able to start making packs to sell on the store for the next versions :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.

Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder

Skill: Programmer