Help with your scripting

request for scripts

request for scripts

Postby lordalmighty1 » 17 Aug 2015, 23:58

ok so I am no coder but will need a whole host of scripts made for use in games.
if its possible can a coder make these and sell them on the skyline store please?.
probably gonna be a lot in the end I will need lol, but here is a few for examples etc.

(FLY) Player flying after collecting an item like in the editor.
(PICKUP) Pickup/drop and carry script for moving crates and alike.
(HEALTH) Health display and lives in the script, with a game over after all lives are spent, and respawn at start if not.
(SPAWNER) AI Character spawner script for spawning enemies after x amount of time and/or zombies killed.
(CRAFTING) Crafting scripts and inventory script
(CUTSCENE) A trigger box that will pause the game play a video and resume the game when video is finished.

thanks in advance, hope to hear from scripters willing and able to get these few done if possible :)
User avatar
lordalmighty1
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 12:13
Location: uk
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 09:42

(SPAWNER) AI Character spawner script for spawning enemies after x amount of time and/or zombies killed.

Here is a Spawn Point Script for you i wrote a couple of weeks back, was wanting to see if someone attempted to make one before releasing it lol :P

Create an entity (this is the spawn point) in the scene and attach this as an external script:
SpawnPoint.lua
(1.49 KiB) Downloaded 455 times


Open the script and change the top 4 variables to your liking. Then it will spawn a preset every chosen milliseconds until a maximum have been created. Once they are deleted, the spawner will take note and respawn another one without anymore code.

Hope this helps :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 10:39

was wanting to see if someone attempted to make one before releasing it lol :P


I did try but I got the crash ;) I also wouldn't mind buying a few scripts.
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 10:49

aah, that will still exist for most still. Will have to see about getting an update or patch out again :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby lordalmighty1 » 18 Aug 2015, 12:37

SolarPortal wrote:
(SPAWNER) AI Character spawner script for spawning enemies after x amount of time and/or zombies killed.

Here is a Spawn Point Script for you i wrote a couple of weeks back, was wanting to see if someone attempted to make one before releasing it lol :P

Create an entity (this is the spawn point) in the scene and attach this as an external script:
SpawnPoint.lua


Open the script and change the top 4 variables to your liking. Then it will spawn a preset every chosen milliseconds until a maximum have been created. Once they are deleted, the spawner will take note and respawn another one without anymore code.

Hope this helps :)


thanks a lot sp m8 :)

of course I have no idea what most of what you said means but thanks all the same lol.


Code: Select all
User Variables

maxSpawnAmount       = 6
spawnHeightOffset       = 1
spawnPresetName       = "SpawnedCharacter_Temp"
spawnEveryMilliseconds    = 1000


I take it the zombies have to be made into a preset 1st for this to work?. what do I change the 3rd variable to if anything?. and can more than 1 preset be spawned with this? and how please?.
User avatar
lordalmighty1
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 12:13
Location: uk
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 12:54

yes, the zombie will need to be a preset with a unique name and added to the resources.

then copy the name of the preset zombie without the ".preset" and then paste that into the script overwriting "SpawnedCharacter_Temp" as this is the name of a preset i was using to test with.

If you want to spawn a different preset, then you can change this in the "function onMultiTimer(timerID)" on line 34.
you should see
Code: Select all
spawnID = entity.spawnPreset( spawnPresetName, x, y + spawnHeightOffset, z );


If you wanted a random zombie to be spawned each time, then you will need to use something like this code script(not tested though):
SpawnPoint_ManyPresetVariations.lua
(2.58 KiB) Downloaded 455 times


If you compare the differences, you should be able to figure it out :) Hope this helps :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 13:07

It seems to freeze the character after so many seconds :(

Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 13:41

weird, they seem to work at first. What preset is that?
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 14:19

yea they work for so many seconds then freeze the player its AIS Player Red :D
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 14:33

the player probably is KO'd lol :P
try add the HUD and see if the health is 0

Edit: yep just tested lol :P
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 14:41

hahah didn't even think of that ty :lol:
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby StarFire » 18 Aug 2015, 14:59

Gamers! :lol:
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 18:30

Gamers! :lol:


hahah yea but that's where a nice death or blood screen would come in handy or even player respawn :lol:
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby StarFire » 18 Aug 2015, 18:56

press "0" to respawn player ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby ant0N » 18 Aug 2015, 19:34

I have a few days working on a framework for Skyline and soon I'll be ready to show it to the community :D
this will be useful for easy creation of AI opponents. To use this script you will need a minimum of knowledge in lua.

Sorry for my English. :)
User avatar
ant0N
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 02 Nov 2012, 12:49
Location: Россия, Москва
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller

Re: request for scripts

Postby StarFire » 18 Aug 2015, 19:49

Looking really good antON. Great wacky art style, looking forward to seeing more of this project.
The community will be very happy for the ai scripts. Thank you for doing this :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby TattieBoJangle » 18 Aug 2015, 19:57

I second that anton great work :D
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: request for scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 18 Aug 2015, 20:06

nice work :D it certainly looks unique and styled. Its cool to see something coming of all that hard work and constant engine errors lol :P
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: request for scripts

Postby ant0N » 18 Aug 2015, 20:22

thanks guys! I will try to meet your expectations.. :D
Sorry for my English. :)
User avatar
ant0N
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 415
Joined: 02 Nov 2012, 12:49
Location: Россия, Москва
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller


Return to Lua Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron