Help with your scripting

start using scripts

start using scripts

Postby cassius_b » 28 Mar 2016, 11:37

Hi
I am new to this engine.I have taken a look at scripting and I don't think learning lua will be a problem but how to start IS the problem.
Lets say I want a simple box object to rotate when the player gets near it, do I attach a script to the box somehow or what.
I could use a simple example on this.
Its not syntax I am concerned with, its how to get INTO scripting from the editor I need.
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen

Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: start using scripts

Postby SolarPortal » 28 Mar 2016, 12:10

Hi cassius_b,

You can get started with scripting in several different ways:
- Micro Scripts: These are applied to the entity in the scene which may contain a model, light or camera. They bring in the id of the object they are attached to and are the general way of working. Micro scripts cannot be shared across entities unless you copy / paste the code or use the asset manager to drop a .lua file on and convert to microscript. There is no file with the script as microscripts are saved with the scene and will be the most common script type you use alongside the scene script.

- External Scripts: These are similar to microscripts but all the code in stored in a .lua file and must be added to the resources in order to work. These are great for sharing scripts across many entities that do the same thing. Combined with the Dynamic Properties, you can use 1 script across many entities but change the properties on each entity through the Dynamic Properties Panel and using the Custom property setups.