Help with your scripting

Tip: Command Prompt

Tip: Command Prompt

Postby StarFire » 07 Nov 2012, 23:54

Tip: Did you know!

Skylines main editor has a console panel which houses a full lua interpreter! You can enter most lua commands into the command prompt and see them instantly without running the game.

Image

Try typing the command:
Code: Select all
sky.trace();

next you will see the debug helper text in the console output panel above the prompt.
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1424
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Совет: В Командной Строке

Postby ant0N » 08 Nov 2012, 05:12

I didn't know about this, thanks for the tip. This is very useful!
User avatar
ant0N
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 413
Joined: 02 Nov 2012, 12:49
Location: Россия, Москва
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller

Re: Tip: Command Prompt

Postby Ellement » 08 Nov 2012, 10:25

Nice one thx
User avatar
Ellement
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 92
Joined: 31 Oct 2012, 22:19

Re: Tip: Command Prompt

Postby ucm » 19 Nov 2012, 10:27

I know the 'in thing' these days is to have a LIVE scene editor but I have always been much more productive with a the scene editor not being live and having to run it outside the development environment....

My question is how to reset the scene editor to it's original design as if i just opened it ( especially after runnign several commands in the console and forgeting what i did xD )

Also hwo to disable LIVE scene inside the development environment? <- the way i script, this would be handy for my awkwardness O:)
User avatar
ucm
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 69
Joined: 26 Oct 2012, 04:19
Location: USA

Re: Tip: Command Prompt

Postby StarFire » 19 Nov 2012, 11:26

As we have see scripts can be run from inside the editor, we are going to add editor specific commands such as add/scatter 50 items( thanks Element ) to the scene. But the main scripts can only be run from the "play mode" ( press the blue play button) . The editor shows the in game visuals as they will be seen, but to see the game screens, run the game scripts you need to press the play button.

UCM@ I think this answers your question ;)
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1424
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Lua Scripting

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron