As the venture in the realm of Shaders and materials you may encounter the odd obstacle. Please post your shader issue for the community to help.

Materials

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 30 Jul 2015, 18:49

yea its still limited to 4 digits if you put the . in its in the prepare folder options change scale.
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 30 Jul 2015, 19:06

oh right, i thought you meant the new batch scale feature on the toolbar of the asset manager next to the new prepare button.
i never thought about having more decimals lol :P

you can for now prepare the folder, then use the second tool batch scale to rescale the meshes of your choice.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 30 Jul 2015, 19:16

:D thanks m8
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Aug 2015, 14:52

ok just finished the material texture reset which will be apart of the next release.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 02 Aug 2015, 01:11

Thanks!

I came across a problem today with the prepare option you know how if it finds a duplicate file it renames it and puts 00 on the end well the system wont add the normal and spec after that, so you have to do it manually and also placing the normal and spec after this in fact messes up the model as seen in the video below.

Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Aug 2015, 11:58

hmm strange one again. Can i ask what settings you choose when preparing for this error and the animation one you have problems with?

Also, does the same thing happen every time the folder is prepared. When we were testing, StarFire would send me folders that didn't work with the system and i would fix them.

There are a lot of permutations to cover, so all the files and folders to prepare would be helpful from any user :)

Edit: The normal map on the video has a space in the name, we gave up on that one and am suprised the system did not catch it and replace it with an underscore like the diffuse texture. Will have a look at code :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 02 Aug 2015, 12:12

The funny thing is the original files didn't have spaces.

plant001_D
plant001_N
plant001_S

But the system has taken the folder name which is Forest Plants and put it on the files so that is where it space is coming from :lol:

Forest Plants_plant001_D_00
Forest Plants_plant001_N_00
Forest Plants_plant001_S_00

here is the conversion settings I used for both

Image
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Aug 2015, 12:48

Material Problem - normals / speculars rename
ok, i think i know the error for the normal and specular maps with spaces. I should have that fixed today. I rename the normal and specular textures to match the diffuse versions but i might not have removed the spaces found as the diffuse does.

Material Problem - Animations missing
The animations may have been missing as the "Share Existing materials" option changes the command line for exporting the FBX files. I will look into this one aswell. For now, turn off "Share Existing materials" and turn on "Create Material for every diffuse texture" for this folder to work correctly and come out with animations and start the folder from scratch again(just FBX files and textures - remove / add folder to resources to reset all files). Also careful of scaling afterwards as the skeleton can be stretched out of shape which is another problem i have found that needs fixed.

More information
The option "Create Material for every diffuse texture" is not meant for a folder with FBX/Assimp files that contain their own materials. As most of the time the FBX/Assimp files will export the required materials for you. This option was so you could convert an entire texture library into usable unique materials. Hence why it is disabled by default. However in the case of the WWII materials, all that was exported was a "01 - Default" material with no textures as the FBX mesh files were missing their materials. This is when you can use this option to generate all the materials quickly for you.

The option "Share Existing materials" is for folders like your trees so they reference the same material. Folders like the WWII weapons dont require this as you want them to be unique to each mesh. Plus sharing materials also means meshes could reference an incorrect material if one already existed for another pack as a duplicate.

Note: All the options have a tooltip explaining what they do aswell.

I hope this clears a few things up for you and explains a few missing bits.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 02 Aug 2015, 13:01

Thanks for that m8 was just uploading this at the time but you know what's wrong now :) the _N & _S

Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Aug 2015, 16:26

i have replicated the animation issue on my computer and am now attempting to fix it :)

Edit: That vegetation pack, please could you send me it or the few files that were demonstrated in the video to ensure that the space problem has been removed.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 02 Aug 2015, 16:35

Pm sent :)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Aug 2015, 17:10

i believe i have fixed the animation issue :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Materials

Postby TattieBoJangle » 02 Aug 2015, 18:54

Good to know m8 :D any idea when a fix will be out for the file name fix.
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Materials

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Aug 2015, 19:00

i have just completed that fix :)

i can give a patch on the forums of what i have for the next release :) Please give me some time to sort it out though (1hr or so) :)
Edit: Patch released here: http://www.forum.aurasoft-skyline.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=1146&p=6035#p6035
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Previous

Return to Shaders n Materials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron