As the venture in the realm of Shaders and materials you may encounter the odd obstacle. Please post your shader issue for the community to help.

Transparency questions

Transparency questions

Postby Gtox » 03 Sep 2015, 13:48

I'm trying to get my fish models working in Skyline, and I have a couple of questions about transparency.
Is there a way to get rid of the strange effect when the entity is underwater? (see attached image)
Is there a way to achieve partial transparency? The fins, for example should be slightly transparent, which I tried to get through painting the alpha channel grey, but the effect hasn't come through in Skyline.

Image
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Transparency questions

Postby StarFire » 03 Sep 2015, 15:03

The fish should look fine using the alpha reject ( but no fin transparency ), but I think there can be depth issues with features such as the ocean.

sorry the image is broken so can not see your problem to offer further support :? .
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1426
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Transparency questions

Postby Gtox » 03 Sep 2015, 15:33

Is there a way to embed images in the post, without linking to an external site? I logged out of imgur and tried the link above and it worked for me.
In order to save a few polys, I made the fins very simple, using textures to provide the detail, and painting out the extraneous bits in the alpha channel. Out of the water, the transparency works fine, but under water you can see the transparent parts - a bit like looking through tinted glass.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Transparency questions

Postby StarFire » 03 Sep 2015, 17:09

I have edited your post to display the image for you. Just went to the url and RMB on the image and took image url and pasted that into the post instead of the page url that you used.

This is a problem with hydrax and its depth buffer. We will look into this for you :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1426
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Transparency questions

Postby TattieBoJangle » 03 Sep 2015, 17:10

Hi m8 I believe I have a fish someplace so I will test it and see what option you need

partial transparency
the slider should achieve this the lower you put it the more it shows until it is solid the higher you put it the more transparent it will become until it is invisible.


here is the image guys as it could be a depth problem
Image

..EDIT.. ahh starfire bet me to it :lol:
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Transparency questions

Postby Gtox » 03 Sep 2015, 17:11

Looking at the image (which is working now, thankfully), it looks as though the sand is visible through the transparent sections, but the reflection(I'm not what to call it, so I'll stick with reflection) of the water surface onto the sand isn't visible through the fins.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Transparency questions

Postby Gtox » 03 Sep 2015, 17:13

@TattieBoJangle - I don't think the slider will work, as the fins need full transparency (the untextured parts), as well as partial transparency (for the fins). It's not really important for the fins to be partially see-through, though - it would just be a nice touch.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Transparency questions

Postby TattieBoJangle » 03 Sep 2015, 17:21

Yea just tested a model and I also get it ;)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Transparency questions

Postby SolarPortal » 03 Sep 2015, 17:31

or it could be the fog pass issue still ?
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3153
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Transparency questions

Postby TattieBoJangle » 03 Sep 2015, 17:52

You get it with palm trees or anything like that when placed along side the water as well so I'm not sure.
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative


Return to Shaders n Materials

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron