anything related to UI in general, splash screens, UI widgets, input and output etc.

Animations in the gui

Animations in the gui

Postby epsilonion » 29 Jul 2015, 18:31

I am wondering if it is possible to use css animations for menus etc?

Using the @keywords rule
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 866
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: Animations in the gui

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Jul 2015, 18:36

i'm not sure and believe they are a CSS3 feature.
Our GUI does not have CSS 3 features and is not a true css. Certain features are missing.

I am guessing you are trying to use things like "@media" to control menu sizes based on screen width/height
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3203
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Animations in the gui

Postby epsilonion » 29 Jul 2015, 19:32

TBH i am more thinking of animating for a menu to make it look nice and sexy..

Oh while I have you I am wondering if skyline settings (resolution, windowed/fullscreen, etc et) is exposed to us so I can create a options menu, I was looking at the documentation but found nothing..
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 866
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: Animations in the gui

Postby SolarPortal » 30 Jul 2015, 09:27

sorry for the late response, i ended up upgrading to windows 10 after the release was published.

Anyway, yes there are functions you can call manually and make your own GUI in game menu options. Simply go to this folder:
"$(Skyline_SDK)\Skyline\Data\Scripts"
and you will see a file called SceneScript_GUI.

This file is included automatically into the top of every sceneScript for all levels and games. Reading this file means you can add your own functions and they will automatically be loaded in aswell.

If you want to use your own GUI options screen, then you can override the default one to not show by using this command:
Code: Select all
render.setShowDefaultGUI(0); -- set to 1 to engage default again


You will also need to engage the cursor when you run your own options screen.
Code: Select all
gui.showCursor(1); -- 0 for off, 1 for on


i havent tested this in a while, but it worked when the system was built.

I hope this helps you :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3203
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to UI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest