The place to post mesh,and animation related hints and problems.

Blender Exporting and Animation

Blender Exporting and Animation

Postby necdel » 14 Dec 2012, 05:05

Ok, I am no artists, but I created a tentacle monster in Sculptris, imported to blender, made rigging, did an animation, and exported it with blender2ogre. I did get an error with the exporter, something about OGRE not supporting vertices being on more than 4 bones. No clue how to fix this or anything yet, so not even sure if the animations will work in the engine. However, my mesh imported successfully into the engine, albeit rotated 90 degrees on the X axis. I believe this is an issue with the blender plugin though. From reading the other posts here, is there no way to define what frames my animations are on at the moment?

Just seen in the documentation that you guys weren't sure about the blender2ogre thing working for the engine yet. Thought I would go ahead and take the initiative to try and get it tested. It appears that it will work fine, for someone who knows a bit more about what they are doing with models and animations hah.

I can upload the blender file if anyone would like, or the files it exported. I only have like 5 hours of work total on the model (literally first mob model I have done myself). I was upset at first when i realized my monster had 60k vertices at first, had to go back and got it down to 3800, loosing all my time making it look nice in Sculptris :D

Here is a pic of it imported to the engine.

necdel
Skyline Apprentice

Re: Blender Exporting and Animation

Postby StarFire » 14 Dec 2012, 09:52

Welcome to Skyline necdel :D

Thank you for experimenting with the blender to Skyline solution, its very good to see there is a working export option available.

vertices being on more than 4 bones, No clue how to fix this or anything yet

This is very common among engines and does not generally pose a problem. As for preventing the error from showing we are not currently sure.