Terrains, skys, Oceans, anything to do with the environment

Water

Water

Postby raisins » 31 Jul 2015, 17:08

Hey guys I have this problem I need help with. When I dip into the water there's this weird skybox that the environment projects before the player is underwater/half way underwater. How do I disable this skybox? I don't need it at all (won't see the sky underwater anyway).

I ticked off "underwater" in the environment option but it didn't remove the problem.

Image


Thanks.
raisins
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 30 Jun 2015, 11:54
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Network guru

Re: Water

Postby TattieBoJangle » 31 Jul 2015, 19:05

Hi m8 I cant see this being the skybox as the distance you need to go before clipping it is huge also the sky shouldn't be the same colour as the water :( do you have any screen shots that show more of the scene that way we can see what's going on thanks
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Water

Postby SolarPortal » 31 Jul 2015, 20:23

Thanks tattie for helping. More screenshots or a video will be helpful.
It popped into my head that the water depth could be at fault.
Q) What is your water depth set at?
Q) have you removed the skybox/put one on, or tried changing background colours when no skybox is on.
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3202
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Water

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Aug 2015, 11:42

Hi, it seems this error could be related to the latest skybox changes:
As i have posted on another thread, it can be down to the FPS character Far clip not matching the scene settings.

Select the FPS player > goto Properties > FPC Camera Properties Header > Change FPC Far Clip

Set to match the scene settings. :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3202
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Water

Postby raisins » 01 Aug 2015, 12:58

Thanks guys. Sorry I took too long to reply. Regarding the scene it's just a simple scene with 1 mesh (for terrain), 1 fps controller, the default skybox and the ocean system. To fix the problem I just had to scale the models bigger to widen the margin between the water-underwater transition.

@solarPanel thanks I'll check it out.

Thanks also Tattie.
raisins
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 30 Jun 2015, 11:54
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Network guru


Return to Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests