Terrains, skys, Oceans, anything to do with the environment

placing vegetatio

placing vegetatio

Postby cassius_b » 24 Sep 2016, 22:16

Since the last update I have not been able to place trees etc on terrain. My eyesight is not too good so maybe I am missing something basic. Ant ideas. thanks.
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby cassius_b » 24 Sep 2016, 22:21

Sorry, last two words should be " Any ideas?
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby SolarPortal » 25 Sep 2016, 13:04

Hi Cassius, sorry to hear you are still having problems.

Q) Is this on a purchased version or free version?
Q) Do they appear in the Player?

Other users have had this problem before, but we just don't get enough information to be able to try and fix it.
Can you send the log files from the Win32 or Win64 release folder depending on what you are running as they may shed some light. Last i looked into this, i though it may be the shaders at fault not generating.

Q) What PC specs are you running. CPU, RAM, GFX, Windows OS etc... :)

You can try clearing your resources to see if that helps. This can be done by going into the Installed folder and looking for:
"Skyline/Data/Resources"
Delete all but the "SkylineBaseResources" file and try reloading the engine again :)

Gen2 skyline is coming along quick, currently there is no veg system, but it will be added into the engine as its a necessity.
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3202
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby cassius_b » 25 Sep 2016, 22:51

Thanks for reply. I have commercial version
Will try what you suggest;
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby cassius_b » 27 Sep 2016, 19:11

Do we already have gen2 or is it in production?
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby lordalmighty1 » 28 Sep 2016, 12:08

its in production, unknown exactly when the gen2 systems will be released at the moment
intel i7 7700 3.6ghz 1080ti 11gb vram 16gb ram 120gb ssd os drive 2tb hdd gaming drive 24" main monitor 21.5" 2ndary monitor skyline pro edition roughly 400+fps in editor...
https://www.twitch.tv/lordalmighty1
User avatar
lordalmighty1
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 12:13
Location: uk
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby epsilonion » 01 Oct 2016, 17:44

The Gen 2 stuff is looking sweet.
The last time I heard they where progressing nicely on the Gen 2 stuff, can not wait. :D
don't shoot me if I am wrong but I think there doing the vegetation stuff for gen 2, not sure can not remember where I saw that post.

Check out the development blog
http://blog.aurasoft-skyline.co.uk/

Also post to facebook
https://www.facebook.com/SkylineGameEngine/?fref=ts
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 866
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Oct 2016, 19:44

@cassius_b, Gen2 is the new redesigned engine of skyline pushing far better performance with more objects and more features.
It is not wise for us to put a deadline on the project yet, but it will be soon within the next few month.

Terrain stuff is currently underdeveloped, but we are definately having it again and hopefully better than Gen1.
The current terrain only uses < 512mb for a 16k terrain over the 2 gigs Gen1 uses lol :P

It is coming together very quickly though and stability is improving every day, so it wont be long before some games can be made.

Those links liam posted are very good to keep up to date with. :)
Hope this helps :D
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3202
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby cassius_b » 02 Oct 2016, 23:42

Got tree placement working now. I was forgetting to click on the big plus sign at the top of right panel.
cassius_b
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 124
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby lordalmighty1 » 03 Oct 2016, 13:19

DOH. lol good to hear its working for you now :)
intel i7 7700 3.6ghz 1080ti 11gb vram 16gb ram 120gb ssd os drive 2tb hdd gaming drive 24" main monitor 21.5" 2ndary monitor skyline pro edition roughly 400+fps in editor...
https://www.twitch.tv/lordalmighty1
User avatar
lordalmighty1
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 12:13
Location: uk
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Re: placing vegetatio

Postby SolarPortal » 03 Oct 2016, 20:43

ahh of course :D Great to hear its working for you now :)

Just goes to show that documentation is a must lol :P
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3202
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests