Terrains, skys, Oceans, anything to do with the environment

SkyBox

SkyBox

Postby TattieBoJangle » 27 Jan 2015, 02:59

Trying to add my skyboxes is there a workaround until the skybox maker is finished :)
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: SkyBox

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Jan 2015, 10:46

yes, they can be made manually fairly easily.
goto "Asset Library/Environment/Skys/", copy one of the preexisting .material files and place it in a folder with your 6 images, or single cubemap image.

Open the material file as a text document.

Look for the line inside texture_unit{ which says:
Code: Select all
cubic_texture front_face.tga back_face.tga right_face.tga left_face.tga up_face.tga down_face.tga separateUV


replace all the texture names with yours. Also remember to change the file extensions to match.
It must have seperateUV on the end, if you have 6 seperate image, or use combinedUVW if using a single image cubemap.

The .material filename must be the same as the material name inside.

heres and example to put inside a blank .material file:

Code: Select all
// MySkyboxMaterial.material
vertex_program Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_VP cg
{
    source Skyline_DepthBuffer.cg
    entry_point Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_vp
    profiles vs_2_x arbvp1
}

fragment_program Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_FP cg
{
    source Skyline_DepthBuffer.cg
    entry_point Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_fp
    profiles ps_3_0 arbfp1
}

material MySkyboxMaterial
{
   technique
   {
      pass
      {
         lighting off
         depth_write off
         fog_override true

         texture_unit
         {
            cubic_texture front_face.tga back_face.tga right_face.tga left_face.tga up_face.tga down_face.tga separateUV
            tex_address_mode clamp
         }
      }
   }   
   
   technique
   {
      scheme DepthBuffer
      pass
      {   
         vertex_program_ref Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_VP
         {
            param_named_auto cWorldViewProj worldviewproj_matrix
            param_named_auto cWorldView worldview_matrix
         }

         fragment_program_ref Skyline_DepthBuffer_Blank_FP
         {
            param_named_auto cNearClipDistance near_clip_distance
            param_named_auto cFarClipDistance far_clip_distance
         }
      }
   }
}
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: SkyBox

Postby TattieBoJangle » 27 Jan 2015, 13:59

Thanks works great :)
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: SkyBox

Postby TattieBoJangle » 03 Jul 2015, 19:16

Is there a way to use standard skyboxes with skyline instead of the individual images.

Image
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: SkyBox

Postby StarFire » 03 Jul 2015, 20:23

The cubemap format is not currently supported for Skylines skyboxes. I think I have seen some utility software out there that converts this format to single images, maybe the cubemapgen app on the asset store may do this. Although it is generally for converting images to cubemaps, but worth checking it out as it has many functions related to, and working with cubemaps, you may get lucky ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: SkyBox

Postby TattieBoJangle » 03 Jul 2015, 20:44

hmmm yea i tried that no such luck lol even when doing it manually in Photoshop it doesn't work/stitch to well, i will keep looking as there must be a way :lol:
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative


Return to Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests

cron