Skyline Editor related tips n tricks!

Play in Editor Question

Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 01 Dec 2015, 21:21

It seems that when I play game in Editor that the rotations and movement do not reset when I play the next time...
EXAMPLE::...I have a lever that activates when player presses "E"...This rotates a model 90 degrees...When I play in the Editor and go to the lever and press "E"...The model rotates like it should...Then I stop play in the Editor and play again...When I get to the model it is already rotated 90 degrees...

This makes testing the game a little bit of a pain...I have to rotate the model back to where it is supposed to be by hand and then run the game again to test if it is working properly...

I am not sure if this is done for a reason or not, but most game engines reset the positions of the models to the initial position, so it can be played through to test it...If I had 200 models to reset by hand before each test, then this could become really crazy...

It is the same with a closed door...If you open the door and play again, then the door is open...I am not trying to say anything bad about SkyLine, and if there is a reason for this then please let me know what it is...Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Dec 2015, 21:34

Skyline has and always should do as you say. It must be an error that needs fixed. We have noticed strange positions and rotations being changed and not reset but have been looking for a replicable pattern to put an end to it lol :P

When you are rotating, is this a lua rotate, action rotate or something else.

Can you provide a bit more explanation of your setup(scripts, actions, properties) for your lever or other objects that you are seeing keeping rotation after play the game and we will get this fixed :)

Thanks very much and sorry for the inconvenience.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3133
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 01 Dec 2015, 21:59

When you are rotating, is this a lua rotate, action rotate or something else.


I am rotating the model when leaving a trigger for the lever...It just uses entity.rotate in LUA and rotates the model 90 degrees...Nothing special at all..I can post code and more info later...I have to go to work now...If you want to test it, you can just put a model in a scene...put a trigger and rotate the model 90 degrees when you hit the trigger with fps player...stop play and play again...your model will already be rotated...Thanks, and it's no problem because I know we will get it fixed...

I know all this can be controlled from the scene script, but it is a lot more work...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Dec 2015, 22:34

Thanks very much, i will try this tomorrow :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3133
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Dec 2015, 13:02

I have given this a go. First added a model to the scene, added a trigger volume to the scene with a script and also an FPS Player.
On the microscript for the trigger i added this code:

Code: Select all
function onTrigger_Enter(hitID)
   if(entity.getIDFromTag("Player") == hitID)then
      entity.turn(entity.getIDFromTag("Default - Mesh"), 0,90,0)
   end   
end

function onTrigger_Leave(hitID)
   if(entity.getIDFromTag("Player") == hitID)then
      entity.turn(entity.getIDFromTag("Default - Mesh"), 0,-90,0)
   end   
end


But the model kept the correct rotation every time. I could still use a test scene and code with the error already as there are too many variables at play to replicate. Thanks :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3133
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 02 Dec 2015, 20:20

I see, and would like to apologize...I was using setPosition also and this set the position after it was moved and would not let it go back to the original position...I am still learning the engine so I am sure I am going to make a few more mistakes...Sorry for the inconvenience...Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Dec 2015, 20:23

ah no worries, it happens as we learn. Here to help any time though :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3133
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 02 Dec 2015, 21:04

Here to help any time though


The main reason I picked this engine....Thanks
Last edited by CreativeOcclusion on 02 Dec 2015, 21:41, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 02 Dec 2015, 21:40

Question...Is there a way to capitalize the "C" and the "O" in my user name...like this...CreativeOcclusion


If not it is ok...not a big deal...just forgot to do it when I made account...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 02 Dec 2015, 22:06

WOW!...That was fast...Thanks...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Play in Editor Question

Postby StarFire » 02 Dec 2015, 22:26

;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1422
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest