Skyline Editor related tips n tricks!

Near Clipping of Vegetation

Near Clipping of Vegetation

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 15:17

Hey, I've got a little problem:
When painting vegetation I have a really far near-clipping. I don't see the trees when I come near them, but really too soon. The trees in the screenshot are painted to the front.

Image

When I place a player an play in the editor, they also disappear.

Placing an asset does not have the same problem.


Additionally I can't place vegetation billboards. Maybe they are near-clipped and too small to be rendered from a distance?

What I did:
New Scene, delete the ground, select the light, generate terraing, apply physics, paint vegetation. That's all.
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Near Clipping of Vegetation

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 19:29

Oh, maybe I didn't state clearly: I didn't find a workaround, I was hoping someone could help me. I just posted what I did to tell what I did so maybe someone could point out what I did wrong.

Edit: did I hallucinate a reply?
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Near Clipping of Vegetation

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 29 Mar 2016, 19:51

Sorry about the post before...I seen that you did not find a work around and deleted the post...There was a similar post about this problem by Ryder...I can give you the link to this post...I read that the vegetation system will be redone in the future..here is the link so you can read about it...

http://www.forum.aurasoft-skyline.co.uk/viewtopic.php?f=27&t=1571
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Near Clipping of Vegetation

Postby SolarPortal » 30 Mar 2016, 11:17

yes, this seems to be happening again and we don't know whats causing it apart from the shaders fail to compile.
As we explained to Ryder, the vegetation system is going to be undergoing some changes for the new version that should make it better overall :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

cron