Skyline Editor related tips n tricks!

Mesh Merger

Mesh Merger

Postby SpiderMack » 08 Oct 2017, 22:33

Hi,


How does it works ? It combine objects to create a new mesh or create some object with sub objects ?

I'm surprised such good optimisaion to be available in skyline :)
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 438
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: Mesh Merger

Postby SolarPortal » 08 Oct 2017, 22:54

its not as optimized as it could be, but we have a new version in development that merges all submeshes into a single submesh that share the same materials to reduce draw calls and make the mesh reusable sort of like a preset/prefab with no dynamics just geometry.

The current one just makes a new mesh from multiple meshes and keeps the submeshes... not any faster, but good if you have put a few things together.

Select all the entities you want to merge, then use the main menu to create a new mesh from those selected.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron