Skyline Editor related tips n tricks!

Move camera view

Move camera view

Postby SpiderMack » 08 Oct 2017, 23:47

Hi,

There is one missing a lot : the ability pan the the camera view with some combination like for example "CTRL" + RMB

We have pan view in all 3D software because it's used as much as rotating the view.

Without some shortcut it's a real struggle because you have to move and turn around like you was playing some game :lol:
(But you just want to pan around)



Will that be available in some next Beta ?
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: Move camera view

Postby TattieBoJangle » 09 Oct 2017, 00:13

Without some shortcut it's a real struggle because you have to move and turn around like you was playing some game


That's the way its designed to be m8 as that view port is essentially your game ;) not sure what to say if you find it a struggle to hold the right mouse button to pan cant get much easier than that.

Q - Pan Down
E - Pan Up
A - Pan Left
D - Pan Right
Alt + Rmb - Pans around the selected Pivot Point
Rmb - Pans Y-Z-X

There is one missing a lot : the ability pan the the camera view with some combination


Not so much as missing more the user missed it ;)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 849
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Move camera view

Postby SpiderMack » 09 Oct 2017, 11:31

The disadvantage is you got to use more keys to use the view.

In Unity you don't need any key , all is done with mouse , it's simplified :
Right mouse = rotate
mouse Wheel = zoom
Middle mouse = pan

It's direct and faster workflow :D
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: Move camera view

Postby SolarPortal » 09 Oct 2017, 12:24

Middle clicks are planned! :D
However, there are many who do not like middle clicks or dont have very good ones on their mice. e.g. like my last mouse.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3133
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Move camera view

Postby TattieBoJangle » 09 Oct 2017, 12:29

In Unity


yeah but its not Unity ;)

so the only difference is the middle mouse click and hold moves the camera X Y Z the same as skyline uses ADQE or hold alt + rmb to view all round the model I'm sure it wont hurt to much to press an extra key ;)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 849
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Move camera view

Postby lordalmighty1 » 09 Oct 2017, 12:42

i happen to like the way skyline works its view port, its more like gaming wasd qe alt shift etc... all this unity this n that its not a unity clone and never will be thank the gods!! ( gods being the devs in this case). it feels like you want to use unity but don't want to pay royalties or the monthly charges or something the way you keep going on about unity this that and something else :lol:
I could be mistaken of course but its how you come across to me with all the unity stuff sorry if that has upset you in anyway...
intel i7 7700 3.6ghz 1080ti 11gb vram 16gb ram 120gb ssd os drive 2tb hdd gaming drive 24" main monitor 21.5" 2ndary monitor skyline pro edition roughly 400+fps in editor...
https://www.twitch.tv/lordalmighty1
User avatar
lordalmighty1
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 442
Joined: 02 Jan 2014, 12:13
Location: uk
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest