From time to time we will inform the community of certain areas of Skyline Development. If we have decided to add a new features or new demos in development etc we will try to make a post in this topic.Feel free to leave your comments to help encourage out development team ; )

DX11 is working!!!!

DX11 is working!!!!

Postby SolarPortal » 10 Nov 2017, 17:22

Hey all,

just a quick message to let you all know that DX11 is officially up and working with most / all features in play again..
there are still a couple of untested areas like parallax mapping & AO on PBR, but the skyboxes are running.
Textures that are non power of two and compressed using something like DXT1,3,5 are rescaled automatically to the nearest power of 2 which removes the remaining crashes.

Terrain is editable aswell as the physics cut hole tool, so woohoo!! Skyline has DX11 :P
Boy, does it feel good haha :P
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby TattieBoJangle » 10 Nov 2017, 17:49

Nice work! :D

rescaled automatically to the nearest power of 2


this will be interesting & how did you do it as I can think of lots that would & should go wrong :lol:
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby SolarPortal » 10 Nov 2017, 20:06

Thanks, just discovered that the GUI needs a bit of work in the DX11 mode, but that wont take long hopefully :)

this will be interesting & how did you do it as I can think of lots that would & should go wrong :lol:

lol :P This just upscales or downscales to the nearest power of two, so for instance, if you had a 900x900 image, then it would change the texture resolution to 1024x1024. Whereas with a res of 545x950 would be turned into 512x1024.
Its only used in DX11 otherwise it would crash when it encounters a compressed image(DXT1) that any mip was not in a multiple of 4.. so again take the 900px example, its next mip is 450 which is not divisible by 4 which is the compressed block size of a DXT1 format.... basically it reads a block of 4x4 at a time...

perhaps might even get 64bit in for this release :P
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby epsilonion » 10 Nov 2017, 20:29

lol so whats next dx12? lol only joking, can not wait till you get in destructible things.... and all that goes with DX11...


Great works guys keep it up..
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 846
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby SolarPortal » 10 Nov 2017, 23:10

haha :P

Librocket is now working :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby SpiderMack » 11 Nov 2017, 18:24

Great work guys :D

It's cool to see a very complete 3D engine up to date and supporting a better shader system and getting even better performance 8-)
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: DX11 is working!!!!

Postby SolarPortal » 11 Nov 2017, 19:08

oh yeah, the performance is great on DX11. I can finally run 1080p without losing all frames like i do in GL.
Once 64bit is running, we will be putting a package together for testing asap :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3151
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron