From time to time we will inform the community of certain areas of Skyline Development. If we have decided to add a new features or new demos in development etc we will try to make a post in this topic.Feel free to leave your comments to help encourage out development team ; )

Modular Dungeon Kit

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 02 Jul 2020, 16:03

The update column does look better. Even so, it's stone and stone is brittle. The crown on that column is big, think, and solid. It's doubtful that those smaller corner bits would actually support all that weight ... especially over time ... and the column looks old due to the texturing. So, personally, I would make them even thicker ... perhaps by twice as much. Or I would make them out of another material, such as metal.

The doorway looks cool, btw.
Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz (overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 128 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 ti 11GB, Windows 10 64-bit, dual monitor display
User avatar
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 12:26
Location: USA
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 02 Jul 2020, 16:15

Yes you are correct these have been around for such an age so most probably would have these supports collapsed. This is the orig verion column B. Column C was a quick and dirt hack :roll: version so I could add a fire bowl inside it, need to give it some more thought ;)

Pic of Column B:

Clipboard Image.jpg
Clipboard Image.jpg (203.15 KiB) Viewed 835 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 02 Jul 2020, 21:08

PBR really pops now from what I see. Nice :D

I asked one time and am just curious not necessarily looking for it...will PBR for the terrain have any added adjustments for normal and things like say the in material editor? Just trying to figure out how far I have to push the normal and stuff for result on terrain. I do not want to make normals that blow things out in the new editor if it will handle terrain PBR better already.

P.S. Love the chunky door! I am partial to column B, I would hang brazier or lamp off of the crown horns. A little wedge look to the uprights might enhance a look of stability while leaving suitable space for a light. Just saying not telling. :lol:
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 03 Jul 2020, 15:44

Oh yes the PBR is just lovely, it all pops! especially with the new hdri and GI. I am getting very close if not identical(using same hdri) results from asset development in substance to skyline. The materials should be left at default settings, a value of 1000 = data taken from image. Ensure you are using flat albedo textures, no colour info containting lighting. This differs to the old method of using diffuse textures. Normal maps left at value 1000 will look the same as they were developed in your pbr workflow.

The new terrain will be using the same pbr so the same rules will apply. ;)

I do welcome your artistic input / constructive criticism as these will be asset for Skyline and you will all be playing around with them, I hope ..... :D

Made a new common, less impressive doorway for variation.

Clipboard Image (1).jpg
Clipboard Image (1).jpg (175.58 KiB) Viewed 831 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 03 Jul 2020, 23:20

Being making some arched variations. Some that chain together and an arched doorway.

Todays Pics:
Clipboard Image (3).jpg
Clipboard Image (3).jpg (179.87 KiB) Viewed 823 times


Clipboard Image (4).jpg
Clipboard Image (4).jpg (143.82 KiB) Viewed 823 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 06 Jul 2020, 07:55

Things are getting better day by day.

btw, does skyline support bump maps?
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby SolarPortal » 06 Jul 2020, 13:32

as in old greyscale images... no, because its just an old way of doing things. Normal maps all the way. V2.0 is not fussy and is not locked to using the BC5_SNORM format either. Chuck a normal in and it should work regardless of format. ALways try to keep to a certain format, size of images and num mip maps so the engine can batch them into texture arrays without wasting memory.

Greyscale bump maps could be used for displacement though and if possible v2.0 we will be integrating a tesselation pipeline to get that sweet sweet details :P
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 06 Jul 2020, 20:01

Thanks, just asked 'cause I am cleaning out and organizing resources again and have a bunch of old bumps for things. Some just might be good for the displacement method.

Things are looking great!
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby SolarPortal » 06 Jul 2020, 20:16

you can use a tool to convert them to normal maps?
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 07 Jul 2020, 23:58

Yes, input to Crazybump a zip from there plus can fine tune.
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 09 Jul 2020, 15:15

Back to sculpting again, now we need some wooden beams and other wood bit such as doors.

Image wood sculpt underway:

Clipboard Image(5).jpg
Clipboard Image(5).jpg (80.36 KiB) Viewed 775 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 09 Jul 2020, 21:37

Just at my perfect blend of realism & stylized.

Nice attention to the grain (usually grain gets lost in itself). If by design great job and if by luck great job.
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 10 Jul 2020, 16:48

Thank you :D @Sage1969 found a nice alpha for raking the grain onto the model.
Just setting up a door from the smaller planks. I will post a screenie once I fixe a normal error which for now elludes me :?

Here is it in Skyline:
Clipboard Image.jpg
Clipboard Image.jpg (86.03 KiB) Viewed 762 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby SolarPortal » 10 Jul 2020, 17:17

nice :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3215
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 10 Jul 2020, 20:32

Nice work. :)
Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz (overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 128 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 ti 11GB, Windows 10 64-bit, dual monitor display
User avatar
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 12:26
Location: USA
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 10 Jul 2020, 21:19

Thanks :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 13 Jul 2020, 14:43

After many hours, way too many hours trying to fix a normal error on the door, I found the solution!
Full on face palm :shock: I was on the path to insanity, kept repeating the same human error every time expecting a different outcome.
When exporting I did so to my blender library then in Skyline updated the fbx to get a new mesh and the problem still existed. Stupidly I had got into this loop and forgot one veryimportant step.... copy it to my skyline library!!! Doh :lol:
So we now have a simple wooden door...

Clipboard Image (1).jpg
Clipboard Image (1).jpg (107.38 KiB) Viewed 711 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 13 Jul 2020, 18:55

Now that problem above is out of the way here are some more wooded assets. good for piers, walk ways etc.

Clipboard Image (2).jpg
Clipboard Image (2).jpg (157.09 KiB) Viewed 707 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 13 Jul 2020, 19:34

Nice work.

I hope you don't mind a bit of a critique - the wood assets look a bit ... mushy, soft. They don't strike me so much as wood as some other, softer substance. Yes, they look like wood (i.e. they have the color and grain), but the edges are so rounded on your models they it looks like they are trying to look like something other than wood.

Also, on your screen shot with the variety of wood items, one of the planks looks like you have the polygonal faces inverted.
Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz (overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 128 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 ti 11GB, Windows 10 64-bit, dual monitor display
User avatar
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 12:26
Location: USA
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 13 Jul 2020, 19:34

Nice little lumber co op you have there. Door looks good.

I believe that is the hand cut effect you are picking up on monkey saw cut would be much cleaner edge.

good for piers, walk ways etc.


perfect for Tudors and interiors also.

I also know I should just redo something 10 mins in but waste hours befre doing just that. :lol: :roll:
Last edited by Sage1969 on 13 Jul 2020, 19:44, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 13 Jul 2020, 19:43

Thanks guys I will have a play with them and see if I can do a bit more with them.

For now this is how its looking all put together:

Clipboard Image (3).jpg
Clipboard Image (3).jpg (217.79 KiB) Viewed 703 times
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby Sage1969 » 13 Jul 2020, 19:50

I myself am interested in the hand hewn look for most all of my stuff but understand the need some might have for clean cut lumber. Already going over some dirt, mold and moss for this scene in my head.

Looks great
User avatar
Sage1969
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 54
Joined: 29 Jan 2016, 08:13
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 13 Jul 2020, 20:00

For me, the wood doesn't look hand-cut, either. That's why I used the word "mushy" and "soft". Wood should not look soft. Don't get me wrong. These are great assets. So, consider this pushing toward perfection. :)
Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz (overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 128 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 ti 11GB, Windows 10 64-bit, dual monitor display
User avatar
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 12:26
Location: USA
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby StarFire » 13 Jul 2020, 20:09

I am sure ive seen some tools in blender for marking hard normal edges rather than adding extra verts and edges. I will have an experiment tomorrow. But I will keep these versions and make a harder edged variation.

The look I am after is somthing heavily aged and damp although I agree some edges do look a little rounded. Thank you for your encorragement and we want these assets to make awesome looking scenes out of the box :D

The new decal system will be great for the extra dirt, moss, and general aging. ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1468
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Modular Dungeon Kit

Postby monkeyfrogstudio » 13 Jul 2020, 21:18

Here are some images I found (just a quick search). Maybe these will help a bit:

Image

Image

Image

This last one's from an old boat that was being carved, I think:

Image

One thing they all seem to have in common is the grain is not as pronounced, except for some major cracks. Perhaps knocking the normal map down a tad would help. And I don't think you need to sharpen the edges, per se. Maybe just narrow the rounded area a bit (i.e. if it were 6mm right now, make it it 3mm or some such).
Intel i7-5820K 3.30GHz (overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 128 GB RAM, Nvidia GTX 1080 ti 11GB, Windows 10 64-bit, dual monitor display
User avatar
monkeyfrogstudio
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 68
Joined: 21 Oct 2018, 12:26
Location: USA
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

PreviousNext

Return to Skyline Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron