Post anything here that does not fall into the other topic categories.

Attach not working in Player<Solved for next Release>

Attach not working in Player<Solved for next Release>

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 20 Jul 2015, 00:54

I have attached a spotlight and added code to make it the same orientation as the camera...I then added a attach action to attach the light to the player...When I play in the editor everything is fine...When I play in the Player, I still have the orientation but light is no longer attached to player...Any help would be appreciated...Thanks
Last edited by CreativeOcclusion on 21 Jul 2015, 19:06, edited 1 time in total.
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 20 Jul 2015, 05:59

Does anyone else have this problem with the Player?...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 20 Jul 2015, 10:28

i will have to check this out ;)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 21 Jul 2015, 00:58

I have got this working, where it works in Editor and the Game Player...I had to code the entity.attach to get it to work..I also coded the offset, just in case...Just using the attach action in the Action Editor only works in the Editor...I have only tried this with attaching a spotlight to the FPS Kit Player...I know you are busy and did not have time to look at it so I tried to work on it and figure it out...It would be nice to be able to look at the C++ code, at least for player and actions that are supplied in the editor...Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 21 Jul 2015, 09:00

Sorry for not being able to test sooner ;)

Have you tried running the "Attach Action Demo.xSkyScene" in the "$(SkylineSDK)\Asset Library\Scenes\Tech Demos\Attach" folder? Run this in the player as well and see if it works :) This demo is working for me.

If you have a sceneFile we can test with or a procedure we can copy to make it not work, then it will be easier to fix :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby StarFire » 21 Jul 2015, 14:11

It probably would not help much looking at the action code c++ as it also hooks into various other mechanics classes, although we hope to some day be able to say yes to this as we do have future plans to make an c++ sdk for action development. This sdk will be a long way off though as it will require a system upgrade where the base code would be moved into a dll and thus be accessible for user action development.

We will take a look at the attach action and see if there is room for improvement, quite possibly as it is an older action. As we have been making some sweeping improvements there have been the odd bug showing its head in some of the earlier code base. We have also been looking at a faster way to attach objects to objects by using the scene list and a type of grouping, which is currently penned in for development in the not too distant future ;)

If you do have any code solutions you think would work as an action please let us know and we will compile them into Skyline for you :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 21 Jul 2015, 17:23

If you have a sceneFile we can test with or a procedure we can copy to make it not work, then it will be easier to fix

The only procedure I used, was adding an attach action in the action editor to the FPS Kit Player...I added the tag that I assigned to the spotlight...The only code I added at that time just keeps the spotlight to the orientation of the camera...This only worked in editor....
Have you tried running the "Attach Action Demo.xSkyScene" in the "$(SkylineSDK)\Asset Library\Scenes\Tech Demos\Attach" folder?

I tried the demo and it works fine in editor and player...The only difference I can see is that I am attaching a light and not a particle...I don't think there should be a difference, but it's all I got until I investigate further...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 21 Jul 2015, 17:27

thanks for the procedure and test results.
i will give that a go in a minute :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 21 Jul 2015, 17:37

I just tried adding a sphere and attaching it to the FPS player and it works in both editor and player...I then tried a pointlight and it attaches in editor but not in player...so it has to be something to do with lights...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 21 Jul 2015, 18:04

i have replicated this on my computer and am now looking into it :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 21 Jul 2015, 18:34

All Fixed for the next release :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 21 Jul 2015, 18:43

Thank you...I was able to code around the bug, but newcomers would have difficulty...As I am learning the engine I will try to report any unusual findings...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Attach not working in Player

Postby SolarPortal » 21 Jul 2015, 18:52

Well done for finding this bug and i hope you enjoy skyline :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Misc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests

cron