Post anything here that does not fall into the other topic categories.

Questions before even starting

Questions before even starting

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 04 Apr 2016, 11:36

Hey,
I'm new to game development (but not new to coding) and I already have a few ideas what I want to try. But while brainstorming some questions came up which I'd like to ask, even not knowing if they will be important. So the questions are more about possibilities than about step-by-step tutorials.

1) (nearly) all rpg games (from Pokemon over Final Fantasy to WOW) have different Maps where you move from one to another. In some of them the transition ist without a loading screen. Is it possible in Skyline to create two scenes (mainly terrain, triggers, ...) and then align them to walk from one to another?

2) Is it possible to create the transition from a map to a yet uncreated map (maybe with a closed door), and then open it when the next map is created? Maybe add a flag (outside the map) to say unavailable/downloadable/open/closed(for whatever reason, eg. event, recalled because of bugs, servercrash for that zone, ...)

3) Is Skyline (easily) capable of 2D Scenes for minigames. Or 2.5D for a digital replication of a Board-Game or a Card-Game. Brainstorming: 3D Lobby where you go to a table and play the game.

4) How about adding content by adding a new .pak or .ark or whatever without the need to apply a patch? Maybe just update an index file that this content can now be downloaded (even as a background task). With a dependency list? Seperate models from the rest to deploy low-res for old systems, low- and high-res for modern systems and LoD? Reuse a model-pack along different maps?

5) Is there any assistance/"framwork" to skill-tree and character leveling? Is it advisable to create these before creating levels? How can I build a combat system?