Post anything here that does not fall into the other topic categories.

update problem

update problem

Postby cassius_b » 25 Apr 2016, 21:18

Got todays update. Thanks. Their now seems to be a problem with first person kit player. It either works ok but without sound effect of gunfire and sometimes it just crashes. The error message relates to lua script. I have not made any scripts of my own so it must be built in stuff.
cassius_b
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: update problem

Postby cassius_b » 25 Apr 2016, 21:45

The fps player has now gone and in dynamic objects it seems to be replaced by a model with no arms and no gun.
cassius_b
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: update problem

Postby cassius_b » 25 Apr 2016, 23:34

Strange. Its working ok now.
cassius_b
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: update problem

Postby SolarPortal » 26 Apr 2016, 10:19

Is this the new or old fps kit?

If it is the new one and running in an old scene then you need to load the weapons file from the default scene stored in data to get the weapon settings.

Posting on fone so can get you a better response when on pc. :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: update problem

Postby cassius_b » 26 Apr 2016, 11:25

Yes I did start a new scene, Works fine
cassius_b
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 98
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 13:45
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Programmer

Re: update problem

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 11:20

To update your weapons file in an old scene so the newer FPS will run, then go to the "Main menu > Editors" and open the weapons editor.

Click the open button on the top middle area on the weapons editor to open a dialog box.
Navigate to the default scene folder in "$(SkylineSDK)/Skyline/Data/Scenes/".

The dialog should show 2 weapons files. Choose or double click the "Default.xSkyWeapons" file in that folder and then save your older scene. Now place the new FPS in the level and it should work as will the older FPS weapon.

This is sort of a porting note that everyone can follow :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: update problem

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 16:36

Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3068
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Misc

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron