Get the latest version of Skyline or new patch updates here.

Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby StarFire » 24 Apr 2016, 23:48

Hi Guys,
We finally have you a new version of Skyline to play with. Sorry it has taken so long but work has been divide between the upcoming alpha renderer and new Visual Mechanic content. Still loads to do but finally we are moving what feels like forward again.

We dont like the times when big system changes are being made as it always feels like slow progress, but this generally pays off in the future with some cool toys. ;)

So please head over to the blog for full details: http://blog.aurasoft-skyline.co.uk/skyline-game-engine-v0-9-7-7-release/

Please note that this is only an Auto Update with a full release and free version to follow in a few days.
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1409
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby AuShadow » 25 Apr 2016, 13:20

Awesome guys can't wait to try it out, as long as I can pry myself away from the division, I'll give it a run Wednesday and let you know if I spot anything not quite right
User avatar
AuShadow
Skyline Ensen
 
Posts: 129
Joined: 17 Feb 2015, 11:18
Skill: Great creative

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Ryder » 25 Apr 2016, 17:12

Howdy! How does one go about installing the upgrade? I had removed the earlier version... then downloaded the free version and looked for a place to "unlock" it with my key... but no such thing.

Thanks for your help.
"A scale model is never done. You just stop working on it."
User avatar
Ryder
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 20:35
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Animator
Skill: Great creative

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 25 Apr 2016, 17:46

Thanks :)

First a note to all users: The Free version and commercial version installer files have been updated so thats all online now for version V0.9.7.7 :D

@Ryder: Hi, you can download a full commercial version from the store by logging in and going to your downloads section in My Account. Click the download icon to get the full version: http://www.chi-ad.com/Skyline/AssetStore/index.php?route=account/login

We are thinking about putting access to the full version from the download page on the main site as it requires an activation to use. This would make it easier to get going again :)

Anyway, with skyline installed (which the new version online is up-to-date), when an auto update is released, the software will let you know when it boots. It will download and update your version and boot a new version of skyline for you.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Ryder » 26 Apr 2016, 03:34

Perfect... thanks for the explanation. Installed...

Now that I have reinstalled, what happens with all of the "purchased" items from the asset store... do I need to DL them again?


I've been loading the tech demos.... and seeing what I think are bugs with some... for example, the RPG health bar demo... the sliders don't seem to do anything.

Missing material in others... etc. Where should I leave comments specifically about the tech demos so that you can brows through them easily to see if you're already aware of the issues... maybe they lead to bona fide bugs of some sort!

R
"A scale model is never done. You just stop working on it."
User avatar
Ryder
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 35
Joined: 21 Feb 2016, 20:35
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Animator
Skill: Great creative

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 26 Apr 2016, 10:16

A fresh install means a fresh library so things will need to be readded . Always store a copy of. Your asset library as there is no point in doing work twice :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Gtox » 27 Apr 2016, 06:03

Does the auto-update system support download resuming? I've tried to update about a dozen times, but the process fails before the download is complete.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Shando » 27 Apr 2016, 06:15

Hi all,

I've tried to update about a dozen times, but the process fails before the download is complete.


Same here, gets to 33%, stays there for ages, then crashes out. Also can't see anything in the log files.

Shando
Alienware 17 (i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz 16GB GTX770M Win 10 64)

Love, Hope, Strength http://www.lovehopestrength.co.uk
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 470
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Kings Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 11:09

Sorry for the late responses, wasn't in the studio yesterday :)

I find it strange why it is crashing when downloading, although it is a large file of 201mb.
Q) Has everyone experienced this problem?

I tested it on our machines when we released and it seemed to download the whole thing and auto update correctly.
Q) What sort of connection speeds do you have?

Perhaps we should look into a download resuming system in case of these errors.

As for getting it up and running, i will have a think and do some tests on my end :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Gtox » 27 Apr 2016, 15:23

My internet connection isn't great, but it's stable enough to download a 201mb file without download resuming, even if it takes a few attempts. With the Skyline update, I can get up to between 40% and 50%, but it always stops.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 15:48

yes, we understand :) and are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Q) Have you managed to update before successfully?
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Gtox » 27 Apr 2016, 19:16

@SolarPortal - as you know from previous (and lengthy :) ) correspondence, I've never found updating to be all that easy, but I'm pretty sure I've managed one or two minor updates.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 19:44

ok, i will be looking into the c++ code that handles the updating asap to and see if any improvements can be made especially with a download resume process, as we want it to be smooth for all users :)

The part i find strange is the crash you all seem to experience when it locks up. Perhaps a catch can be made and stop then resume the download.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby TattieBoJangle » 27 Apr 2016, 20:08

Yea I find when it is updating don't touch your pc at all as skyline crashes :( perhaps you should make the update a standalone where it would download the files with a resume just an idea ;)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 842
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Apr 2016, 20:17

i will try to crash my version, we have thought about a small exe that runs on as skyline boots to stop having the whole editor load before updating.

Plenty of things to try :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 28 Apr 2016, 00:32

I've never had a problem updating at all...I just click yes to update and leave it alone...When I reopen the editor it is updated...This is odd that it is different for others...The overall update is a good one...I would much rather have code for fps player than the visual modules...But it does seem that the younger generations seem to like the visual stuff...Guess I will have to suck it up and learn it...

Good job on the update...Keep up the good work...CO
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Gtox » 28 Apr 2016, 08:14

For me, Skyline doesn't crash during the download - I just get a message saying that the update failed, or words to that effect. Also, with the previous update I had no problems downloading, I had problems with the installation.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 28 Apr 2016, 20:24

Thanks for the extra input guys :D
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 29 Apr 2016, 09:12

I was hoping that the loadScene() would be fixed in this update...Is this planned for the next update???...I am needing this, as I am working on a second level for Tunnels of Tarkus...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Apr 2016, 12:14

Yes we are working on it as it seems to be a strange bug. We did try to fix it for that release but ran out of time.

Edit: @CreativeOcclusion, I have just fixed the loadScene. It was caused because a scene was loaded while in the middle of a script due to the triggerbox which then loads the scene and then tries to exit a script which no longer exists. This is apart of the next release :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 29 Apr 2016, 18:38

SolarPortal wrote:Yes we are working on it as it seems to be a strange bug. We did try to fix it for that release but ran out of time.

Edit: @CreativeOcclusion, I have just fixed the loadScene. It was caused because a scene was loaded while in the middle of a script due to the triggerbox which then loads the scene and then tries to exit a script which no longer exists. This is apart of the next release :)


Thanks for taking the time to fix it...That is a weird one....CO
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Apr 2016, 19:13

np :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby Gtox » 29 Apr 2016, 20:39

I don't know if this is relevant, but when I get the message that the download has failed, a new instance of Skyline starts automatically, so I end up with two instances of Skyline running at the same time.
Gtox
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 96
Joined: 05 Feb 2015, 21:06
Location: South Africa

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 29 Apr 2016, 20:46

"Gtox" Said...I don't know if this is relevant, but when I get the message that the download has failed, a new instance of Skyline starts automatically, so I end up with two instances of Skyline running at the same time.


Have you tried backing up all your files...Then reinstalling skyline...Maybe something is corrupt in the installation you have now...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Skyline Release 0.9.7.7

Postby SolarPortal » 01 May 2016, 15:57

I will be starting the resume download work tomorrow(monday) as sunday's are our day off lol :P :D
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Next

Return to Skyline Release

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests