This forum plays host to the community game project

Some Sample Screens for GUI

Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 24 Oct 2013, 02:12

Hi all,

I have had a quick play with CEGUI (using the Editor) and have come up with the following:

http://sdrv.ms/1abeZdR

I have so far had a stab at a Main Screen, a Character Selection Screen, a Quit Box, a Help Screen and a Credits Screen.

I have used a free (under MIT licence) skin called "GlossySerpent" from here:

http://cegui.org.uk/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=6006

and some images I grabbed off the internet (no permission obtained as they are just for demo purposes!).

We will need to create our own images and also obtain some more fonts as we will probably need larger fonts than are provided with this skin.

I am proposing that we have a GUI system (pre-game) along these lines:

http://sdrv.ms/17cUX4c

Let me know what you think, and I'll see what I can do.

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby SolarPortal » 24 Oct 2013, 11:10

looking great!, it seems you are getting the hang of it. :D

you will have to see if skyline will load the layouts schemes, etc...
you can find the skyline cegui folder in "Data\GUI\CEGUI"

there is also a techdemo on using cegui inside skyline in the "Asset Library\Scenes\Tech Demos\UI" folder

keep up the good work.
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 24 Oct 2013, 22:30

OK, so I tried copying the relevant files over and Skyline crashed when trying to load the Scheme :(

I have tried copying the files to both "Data/GUI/CEGUI" and "Asset Library/CEGUI" with no success.

I think the problem may be something to do with the version of CEGUI in Skyline?? (I built my screens using "CEGUI Layout 4" (version 1.0?) in CEED), though the last few lines of the CEGUI log show that it was an unknown FontType:

Code: Select all
25/10/2013 07:21:04 (Std)    ---- CEGUI System initialisation completed ----
25/10/2013 07:21:04 (Std)    
25/10/2013 07:21:04 (Std)    Display resize: w=1920 h=1080
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    Started creation of Scheme from XML specification:
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    ---- CEGUI GUIScheme name: TaharezLook
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    Started creation of Imageset from XML specification:
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    ---- CEGUI Imageset name: TaharezLook
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    ---- Source texture file: TaharezLook.png in resource group: (Default)
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Std)    Started creation of Font from XML specification:
25/10/2013 07:21:16 (Error)   CEGUI::InvalidRequestException in file ..\..\..\cegui\src\CEGUIFont_xmlHandler.cpp(146) : Font_xmlHandler::elementFontStart: Encountered unknown font type of ''


Please can you let me know where I should copy all of the relevant files to, and what version of CEGUI is used in Skyline?

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby SolarPortal » 25 Oct 2013, 08:50

i believe skyline runs with cegui V0.7
there is a converter inside the Ceed editor for this.

Data/GUI/CEGUI will be fine, as that is where we have stored ours, but we have had many problems with the versioning of CEGUI aswell.
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 25 Oct 2013, 09:14

Cool 8-)

I'll give it a go over the weekend and let you know how I get on.

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Ryzon » 25 Oct 2013, 18:13

Shando well done man, looks great!
User avatar
Ryzon
Skyline Padawan
 
Posts: 93
Joined: 07 Oct 2013, 23:00
Location: USA

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 26 Oct 2013, 05:02

OK, so I tried with v7, but got the same error (which crashed Skyline):

Code: Select all
26/10/2013 13:58:03 (Std)    ---- CEGUI System initialisation completed ----
26/10/2013 13:58:03 (Std)    
26/10/2013 13:58:03 (Std)    Display resize: w=1920 h=1080
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    Started creation of Scheme from XML specification:
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    ---- CEGUI GUIScheme name: TaharezLook
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    Started creation of Imageset from XML specification:
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    ---- CEGUI Imageset name: TaharezLook
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    ---- Source texture file: TaharezLook.png in resource group: (Default)
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Std)    Started creation of Font from XML specification:
26/10/2013 13:58:25 (Error)   CEGUI::InvalidRequestException in file ..\..\..\cegui\src\CEGUIFont_xmlHandler.cpp(146) : Font_xmlHandler::elementFontStart: Encountered unknown font type of ''


For some reason it seems to be having problems with a TaharezLook font, and the only one I can find is:

Code: Select all
DejaVuSans-10.font


which is definitely in the Font folder of GUI/CEGUI.

I'll try without loading the TaharezLook and WindowsLook and see what happens :|

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 26 Oct 2013, 05:21

Take 2....

Deleted TaharezLook and WindowsLook loads fine :)

However, now I get the following Ogre crash:

14:04:36: OGRE EXCEPTION(6:FileNotFoundException): Cannot locate resource in resource group Imagesets or any other group. in ResourceGroupManager::openResource at .\src\OgreResourceGroupManager.cpp (line 756)


I have definitely copied the imageset files and other images into the imageset folder, so now I really don't know what to try next??

I have uploaded my files here:

http://sdrv.ms/16BKKuf

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby StarFire » 26 Oct 2013, 10:24

When we were making the test hud we had to use an older version of TaharezLook ( the one already in the data folder ) and accompanying files. I think we left the folder in the ceed samples folder. Try copying this folder to your ceed development folder and working from here. Then copy this back to Skylines data...

The solution is outside of Skylines core code, it is good to have you experiment with this area as it free's us time to concentrate on the next release update, many thanks :)
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 26 Oct 2013, 10:40

No worries :D

Happy to be able to take some of the load off you guys :mrgreen:

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 26 Oct 2013, 22:55

Another Update....

After several hours of messing around, I finally came to the conclusion that the Skin was incorrectly set up for our version of CEGUI :shock:

I basically had to change all xml tags that started with a lower case letter so that they started with an upper case letter :roll:

Now, I've almost got it loading, but I've had to request some help on the CEGUI forum as it looks like there's a problem with one of the XML elements used in the skin ("OperatorDim" if you're interested).

Hopefully I'll have another update soon.

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby StarFire » 27 Oct 2013, 10:08

Great to hear that you are getting progress and that there is a potential solution. Cegui is one of the top ui systems ( free ) that can produce some excellent results in the hands of someone who knows what they are doing ;)
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 28 Oct 2013, 13:02

OK, so after much messing about I have the first GlossySerpent Screen working in Skyline :shock:

http://sdrv.ms/19MywlY

All I've got to do now is get it to actually do something when you click a button :?

Regards

Shando

PS: Do you know why the CEGUI Mouse Cursor doesn't follow the Windows Mouse Cursor?
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby StarFire » 28 Oct 2013, 13:17

Nice one mate! This is something we have been looking forward to seeing :D

Mouse: Not sure why it misbehaves, We will have a look at it after the current jobs but it is functional for you to get the next task completed. As for the click there is a tech demo with all the lua needed.

Keep it it! :D
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Some Sample Screens for GUI

Postby Shando » 28 Oct 2013, 21:06

Thanks :)

We will have a look at it after the current jobs


No worries. As you say, it does work for testing purposes.

As for the click there is a tech demo with all the lua needed.


That was what I was intending to use as a base (you can probably just about see the particles from the demo running in the background of my screenshot ;) )

Regards

Shando
User avatar
Shando
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 560
Joined: 06 Mar 2013, 22:35
Location: Moffat Beach, Queensland
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Community Game

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron