Help and advice for Installing Skylines Toolset

Wondering... NAS Drive and mapped drives

Wondering... NAS Drive and mapped drives

Postby epsilonion » 03 Aug 2015, 14:46

I use Skyline from my pc and a laptop and was wondering if there is a way to default the asset library to a network drive? so that it can share the assets..

I know I could map a drive from the NAS drive but i am wondering if the prepare feature etc would work with a shortcut to the mapped drive?

Regard

L
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 850
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: Hull, East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: Wondering... NAS Drive and mapped drives

Postby SolarPortal » 03 Aug 2015, 14:56

This currently is not possible due to the resource lists only scanning the asset library near the "Win32_Release" folder and any other location that has been added manually through the asset manager.

Since the asset manager does not show any network drives, it can only add from the hard drives.

However i do know that you can load a scene file across the network which then references the assets on your harddrive. I don't think it would be too much work to make the resource lists work across networks as well which really opens up team libraries :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3153
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest