Help and advice for Installing Skylines Toolset

openAL not found

openAL not found

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 17 Mar 2016, 10:14

Hello,
Yesterday I downloaded the Installer for the free Version of Skyline just to play around with it a little.
It successfully installed vcredist and physix, but then "failed" at openAL. I have a openal.dll in C:\Windows\System32, freshly installed (date of file), but the Skyline installer does not find it. I'm working with Win7 64-Bit.
Is there some way to trick the installer into proceeding? Or point it to the correct location? Or copy the dll to where the installer expects it?

Regards,
PaRaDoXoS
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: openAL not found

Postby TattieBoJangle » 17 Mar 2016, 14:16

Hi PaRaDoXoS welcome you can skip this step at any time by unchecking the box and click finish ;)

Image
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: openAL not found

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 17 Mar 2016, 14:18

Thanks, I didn't realize that could work. Just noticed the grayed-out "next". I'll check it out later.
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: openAL not found

Postby TattieBoJangle » 17 Mar 2016, 14:25

no problem will look into before the next version is out.
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Community Manager
Community Manager
 
Posts: 858
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: openAL not found

Postby SolarPortal » 17 Mar 2016, 17:33

Welcome to the forum @PaRaDoXoS, sorry to hear about your issues, i am sure this will be sorted as there have been quite a few complaints through email about this as well. :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3153
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: openAL not found

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 11:39

Just wanted to give a quick reply.
Installation worked as described, audio (even though not found by the installer) works, too.

The crashes I experienced are already reported. Hope not too many will follow :-(
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: openAL not found

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Mar 2016, 11:58

Skyline is in beta which means you will inevitably find another crash. We do our best to work with you and fix the errors the best we can, but we are a 2 person team so time can be stretched atm with the new renderer being developed and the game mechanics being worked on. :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3153
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: openAL not found

Postby notthechili » 01 Apr 2016, 05:04

Had the same issue.

Go to https://www.openal.org/downloads/ and download the OpanAL Core sdk.

Unzip and install. No more crashes for me.
notthechili
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 4
Joined: 01 Apr 2016, 05:01


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest