Help and advice for Installing Skylines Toolset

there is no compilation (winXP)

there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby genart » 12 Jul 2014, 19:14

Hi,

The project isn't compiled.
I already and a collector of resources started. But as a result progress of compilation is displayed, and ready assembly isn't present.

Everything did according to the description:
- I opened the created project;
- I opened the copy of the edited scene;
- I pressed to compile;
And anything isn't present. Even the folder under assembly isn't created.
User avatar
genart
Skyline Initiate
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Jul 2014, 12:00

Re: there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby SolarPortal » 12 Jul 2014, 19:42

Hi Genart,
hmmm strange, no worries though as this has not been tested outside the dev machines yet.
We will try and help sort this out and fix any bugs/crashes there may be.

here is a basic test.
> Create a new project outside of the SkylineSDK.
> Create and save a scene to the project/scenes folder that contains a small scene with ground plane and sphere.
> Use the resource collector to grab the assets and place them into the project directory.
> Recreate the resource list for the project, either by "assetManager menu->resources->recreate project..." or delete the 2 resource files in the "$project/resources" folder.
> Then goto file->export scene
> Give your game export test name, and make sure to choose the scene you wish to start from.
> The ark's and installer are not yet implemented.
> Click ok.
> the box which asks you if you wish to run the game does not work yet.
> Run the game either from the desktop or "$(project)/_CompiledGame/mygame.exe".

Hope this helps :D

p.s. if you still cannot get it working, please record a video, so we can follow the steps closely to replicate.
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby genart » 13 Jul 2014, 00:58

Thanks! :)
I will try.
User avatar
genart
Skyline Initiate
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Jul 2014, 12:00

Re: there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby genart » 15 Jul 2014, 16:57

Yes, it is compiled. :)

The truth in a ready scene keeps only primitives, and the model of characters isn't present.
User avatar
genart
Skyline Initiate
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Jul 2014, 12:00

Re: there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby SolarPortal » 15 Jul 2014, 17:15

if the characters are the "black knightress", "royal sorceress" or "alsation", then that's because they are stored in an .ark file.
These files are currently not copied or created in the game directory.
This will be completed by the first release of skyline.

A .ark file is a packaged archive that is unique to skyline.
It will protect your assets from the beginner to intermediate user.

So basically, meshes and materials will just have to exist as standalone files in order to be copied and exported atm. :D
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: there is no compilation (winXP)

Postby genart » 15 Jul 2014, 20:25

Hi, SolarPortal.

Many thanks.
User avatar
genart
Skyline Initiate
 
Posts: 16
Joined: 07 Jul 2014, 12:00


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest