Showcase
Showcase your work that you have created in the Skyline Game Engine.

Tunnels Of Tarkus

Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 24 Oct 2015, 20:11

I started porting my game Tunnels of Tarkus over to SkyLine from Leadwerks...Here is a video of progress...


Second Part...

Third Part...

Fourth Part...

Fifth Part...

Sixth Part...Long loading Time...

Seventh Part....
Last edited by CreativeOcclusion on 23 Jul 2016, 22:45, edited 8 times in total.
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby SolarPortal » 24 Oct 2015, 20:27

That is really good. I see the sliding doors working very well :)

p.s. i also added the youtube video onto the page as i noticed the iframes before :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 24 Oct 2015, 20:28

Haha thats cool to see, keep up the great work!
Nice to see your game develop in Skyline. :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 24 Oct 2015, 21:11

Thanks for adding the video...I couldn't figure out how to add it....Yes, the sliding door is working Ok...I am just getting started porting the game...There is a lot of work to do...Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby epsilonion » 24 Oct 2015, 22:51

Looking good mate..
I know theirs at least one more (other then me) that left the other game engine behind, updates come to slow and I had other issues with it, much simpler to use this one and regular updates and constant development, Plus you dont get flamed on here for opinions.. :)

To insert youtube vids use the following and insert the last part of the vid page tBULaKyzkA0 from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBULaKyzkA0, between the [youtube][/youtube] tags, thats it... if your unsure click the preview button to see if it loads.

[youtube][/youtube]
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 789
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 24 Oct 2015, 23:37

To insert youtube vids use the following and insert the last part of the vid page tBULaKyzkA0 from https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tBULaKyzkA0, between the [youtube][/youtube] tags, thats it... if your unsure click the preview button to see if it loads.

@liamgibbins
Hey, Thanks for the help...I figured it out by looking at the way SolorPortal did it in my post, but I do appreciate any help I can get...I do understand your feelings with LW Engine...I plan to do great things with SkyLine....Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby TattieBoJangle » 25 Oct 2015, 11:08

It does look great it has a good feel to it, cant wait for the ai there will be a few jump scares I can imagine keep it up :D
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 842
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 25 Oct 2015, 22:40

It does look great it has a good feel to it, cant wait for the ai there will be a few jump scares I can imagine keep it up


The jump scares and many traps is the plan for this game....The ai is going to be the hard part for me to program...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 25 Oct 2015, 23:20

With regards to ai, when you are a little closer to needing it we could help by adjusting some of our scripts to work for you. This will give you a good starting point for some user custom variations to the script. :D
Have you played with the combined scripts?
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 26 Oct 2015, 01:01

Have you played with the combined scripts?


No, I have not looked into these scripts yet...I am still a ways away from ai right now, but I will keep in mind that I have help when I need it...This community and it's helpful nature, is something I feel honored to be a part of....Thanks
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 30 Oct 2015, 20:16

New video showing some progress...Not very good video...real slow on particles and water looks bad...In game all this looks good...

Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby TattieBoJangle » 30 Oct 2015, 21:31

looking great much better with the sounds keep it up :)
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 842
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 30 Oct 2015, 22:07

I will have a look at setting up another water shader ( in a spare moment ) which will work with the newer Skyline features, as the current water plane shader is a bit old now. So if you can bear with it for now we will get you some better water ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby SolarPortal » 30 Oct 2015, 22:18

nice :) won't be long before they are all moving around.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 30 Oct 2015, 23:30

So if you can bear with it for now we will get you some better water

Better water always sounds great....The video really made the water look bad...thanks

won't be long before they are all moving around.

Yea, I can't wait....I am having some problems with the 3D sounds....They seem to want to play all over the whole building instead of one small area...

looking great much better with the sounds keep it up

Thanks Tattie....It's not much, but it took a lot of work and trial and error to get here...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 30 Oct 2015, 23:50

but it took a lot of work and trial and error to get here...


Your a Skyline Pionear :D

But remember if you get too stuck we are here to help out ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 31 Oct 2015, 01:40

Your a Skyline Pionear :D

But remember if you get too stuck we are here to help out


WoW!, That's awesome!...If you have any info on the 3d sound, it would help...Thanks....
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 31 Oct 2015, 20:32

Added an exhaust fan and some lighting...tried out the flickering light script...


Trying to have a playable demo by December 1, 2015...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby TattieBoJangle » 31 Oct 2015, 20:36

Trying to have a playable demo by December 1, 2015...


Nice! it will be good to have a few things to play made with skyline :D
Case: CM Storm Trooper CPU: I7 5930k X99 Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 Graphics: Asus GTX 1080 Motherboard: Rampage Extreme V x99 Ram: RipJaws DDR4 3000mhz Storage: x2 SSD Crucial 500GB + x5 2TB Hdd PSU: Evga 1500w OS: Windows 10
User avatar
TattieBoJangle
Skyline Lead Moderator
Skyline Lead Moderator
 
Posts: 842
Joined: 26 Jan 2015, 00:15
Location: United Kingdom
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Great creative

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby SolarPortal » 31 Oct 2015, 20:40

cool, getting better each day :)

Q) Are you making backup files of all the scenedata?
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 31 Oct 2015, 20:43

Nice :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 31 Oct 2015, 20:50

Q) Are you making backup files of all the scenedata?


I have a MyScenes folder that I back up...I believe it has the scenedata in it...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 365
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby SolarPortal » 31 Oct 2015, 20:54

thats good. :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3015
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 31 Oct 2015, 20:56

It should as the scene data is created at the same folder level as the scene file.
We suffix scene files with scene_A1, scene_A2 etc when any big changes are made so we always have the previous version.
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Tunnels Of Tarkus

Postby StarFire » 31 Oct 2015, 21:06

We can look at the sound in a few days and get the distance working for you. ;)
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1407
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer

Next

Return to Showcase

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron