From NPC combat to path following and all AI related tasks.

Navmesh not available

Navmesh not available

Postby SpiderMack » 06 Oct 2017, 12:16

Hi,

Is navmesh back and available soon in Gen2 ?
I would like to test it :mrgreen:

Thanks.
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: Navmesh not available

Postby SolarPortal » 06 Oct 2017, 12:26

ill take a quick look at it today and see what needs done with it..
i think its just the visualisation which is broken :P
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Navmesh not available

Postby SolarPortal » 06 Oct 2017, 12:46

It appears navmesh is still working, just forgot how to use it lol :P

In order to place navmesh across surfaces, these surfaces need marked as static as there's no point in having navmesh on a moving entity lol :P

So select the entity that are the environment, go to the properties, set them static and then generate navmesh.
It does crash though when trying to place path points for testing purposes.

Plus the editor is a tad awkward to use it seems and needs some work to match the rest of the engine :P

But it is working :P

Here are some starting code functions:
Code: Select all
function createNavmeshAgent()
   navmesh.addEntity(obj);
   navmesh.showAgentDebug(obj, 1);
   navmesh.setAgentMaxSpeed(obj, 5);
end


function to use:
navmesh.setAgentMaxSpeed(moveSpd);
navmesh.setDestination(obj, destination.x, destination.y, destination.z);

http://www.chi-ad.com/Skyline/API/Lua/html/classnavmesh.html
Note: API for navmesh seems to not be fully written out. but again, like the rest, this will all be updated for release :)

Some examples will be put together for release :D
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Navmesh not available

Postby SpiderMack » 06 Oct 2017, 13:31

It does crash though when trying to place path points for testing purposes

But path points and navmesh are two different systems ? One should not make crash the other :lol:

i think its just the visualisation which is broken

Visualisation is important otherwise you don't know what looks like the walkable surface.
I hope visualisation will be back for next Gen 2 Beta :D
User avatar
SpiderMack
Skyline Expert
 
Posts: 441
Joined: 02 Dec 2016, 09:15
Skill: Concept artist
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Level Designer
Skill: Scripter

Re: Navmesh not available

Postby SolarPortal » 06 Oct 2017, 14:28

as i mentioned, navmesh is actually working:

Clipboard Image.jpg
Clipboard Image.jpg (101.91 KiB) Viewed 8045 times


You need to set the entities are static in order for them to be picked up by the navmesh system.
But path points and navmesh are two different systems ? One should not make crash the other :lol:

This is not the spline path i am talking about, but the testing for navmesh to show a path of quickest route through an environment.
Its this option in the navmesh editor.
Clipboard Image (2).jpg
Clipboard Image (2).jpg (31.49 KiB) Viewed 8045 times


Hope this helps clear this up :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to AI

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron