Help and advice for Installing Skylines Toolset

Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Postby RufeScorpius » 27 Jun 2018, 22:15

The editor, pro version, crashes at startup. I can not do anything and I bought a few hours ago. I noticed that during the loading screen, it crashes how much it has to load the resources, then towards the end of the upload. Then he crashes without starting the porgram.
Thanks for listening and I'm waiting for feedback.

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-4690K CPU @ 3.50GHz
RAM: 8 gb
Windows 10 Pro, 64 bit

SOLUTION: I read in a post on this forum that the asset portfolio should not contain repetitions eg: c: \ games \ games; and mine was exactly in this situation. So I solved by going to the Documents and setting the correct path without doubles in the .ini file
Last edited by RufeScorpius on 27 Jun 2018, 22:28, edited 1 time in total.
Intel (R) Core (TM) i5-4690K CPU @ 3.50GHz
Ram Memory: 8 GB
Windows 10 pro, 64 bit
RufeScorpius
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Jun 2018, 21:50
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Jun 2018, 22:24

Hi, Thanks for contacting us, first we would like to apologize for any issues you are experiencing and will do our best to get you up and running :) Oh and thank you for supporting us and welcome to the forum.

Q) The specs you posted are fine for skyline, may i enquire as to your GPU specs though?

Q) In your install location, does your username have any non ascii characters as skyline is ascii only and not unicode.

Q) Please can you provide the path to the location your installed skyline and where you chose to make your user asset library.

Q) Please can you send the log files:

  • Skyline.log
  • Skyline_TechSupport.txt

from the "C:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win(XX)" (replace the (XX) with the version you of skyline you ran, if 64bit version of skyline, the Win64)
These logs should help to ascertain where the fault is and hopefully provide you a much needed fix :)

Also, please join us on discord and you will be able to get live 1-1 support with myself or my colleague which will help get you up and running faster.
Skyline Dev Server: https://discord.gg/pCk9s8n
Skyline Tech Support Server: https://discord.gg/MRyJFH7

Thanks and again sorry about this and look forward to your responses and sorting this issue out :)
Best Regards
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Jun 2018, 22:32

Excellent, i am pleased that you have solved the problem :) I will implement a fix for this tomorrow to ensure that it doesnt happen again :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Postby RufeScorpius » 27 Jun 2018, 22:36

F:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win64 is the installation path.
Thank you very much for your promptness in answering me and the problem was in fact the path of the assets. Thank you so much
Attachments
Skyline_TechSupport.txt
(14.38 KiB) Downloaded 11 times
Skyline.log
(65.27 KiB) Downloaded 13 times
Intel (R) Core (TM) i5-4690K CPU @ 3.50GHz
Ram Memory: 8 GB
Windows 10 pro, 64 bit
RufeScorpius
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 27 Jun 2018, 21:50
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: Scripter
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Postby SolarPortal » 27 Jun 2018, 22:37

No problem, thats what we are here for :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Skyline Editor Pro Startup Crash[SOLVED]

Postby SolarPortal » 28 Jun 2018, 13:51

Added a message box to decline a folder path if it contains the library name twice on first skyline load and also added the same feature to the editor settings other custom user libraries. Thanks for the report.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3059
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests