Skyline Editor related tips n tricks!

C++ Run Time Error

C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 30 Dec 2018, 21:18

Hi

Everytime I try to launch anything under Game and Demos, I get this error. Thanks for looking.
Attachments
C++ RUNTIME.PNG
C++ RUNTIME.PNG (10.42 KiB) Viewed 265 times
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby epsilonion » 31 Dec 2018, 16:56

Welcome to the forum.

Hmm, this is strange, have you tried:

* Install the vs2015 x86 redist - i don't think this is required, but is the process i used: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downloa ... x?id=48145
* Install the vs2013 x86 & x64 redist: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downloa ... x?id=40784

Please can you send the log files:

Skyline.log
Skyline_TechSupport.txt

from the "C:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win(XX)" (replace the (XX) with the version you of skyline you ran, if 64bit version of skyline, the Win64)
These logs should help to ascertain where the fault is and hopefully provide you a much needed fi
User avatar
epsilonion
Skyline Moderator
Skyline Moderator
 
Posts: 823
Joined: 26 Feb 2015, 11:51
Location: East Yorkshire, England
Skill: Business Manager
Skill: Great creative

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 31 Dec 2018, 21:39

the vs2015 x86 redist might be the issue as it works on a different computer with that installed. I will try that when I get home.
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 01 Jan 2019, 01:24

Which OS are you using
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 01 Jan 2019, 01:59

Windows 7 home Premium SP1


_SkyLine Tech support_______________________________________________________________
|
| Aurasoft Skyline Game Engine
| Initialising!
|
| © 2008-2015 Aurasoft UK & Skyline Game Engine.
| All Rights Reserved
|________________________________________________________________

[Game Engine]: Skyline Game Engine is activating...
SKYLINE CORE: Skyline Game Engine is now booting... 0
SKYLINE CORE: Skyline Game Engine is now booting... 1
SKYLINE CORE: Skyline Game Engine is now booting... 2
Creating SkyEditor Script!
Creating EnvironmentEditor Script!
Creating MetricsUI Script!
Creating Editor_AnimationMapper Script!
Creating Editor_CollisionFlags Script!
Creating Editor_Settings Script!
Creating Editor_Mesh Script!
SKYLINE CORE: Mesh Viewer - Initialising!
Setting up controls widget!
SKYLINE CORE: OgreWidget is initialising
Skyline Core: Initialising Skyline Renderers.
SKYLINE CORE: Setting up configuration options.
Direct3D11 Rendering Subsystem
OpenGL 3+ Rendering Subsystem
(*it)->getName() :: Direct3D11 Rendering Subsystem
(*it)->getName() :: OpenGL 3+ Rendering Subsystem
Setting OpenGL 3+ Rendering Subsystem Properties
SKYLINE CORE: Enabling Gamma Correction for HDR Pipeline.
SKYLINE CORE: Configuring System based on chosen settings.
SKYLINE CORE: Creating video manager

SKYLINE CORE: Setup is now complete. Begin with engine boot procedure...

Skyline Core: Setup Renderers Successfully.
SKYLINE RENDERER: Render Window setup completed Successfully. 0 errors.
SKYLINE RENDERER: Setting up the main viewport for rendering.
SKYLINE RENDERER: Registering HLMS System!...
SKYLINE RENDERER: Loading Skyline Asset Lists
SKYLINE RENDERER: Loading Base Resources
SKYLINE RENDERER: Loading Base Required Assets.
You cannot set update lod lists to any other pass except: PASS_SCENE
You cannot set enable overlays to any other pass except: PASS_SCENE
You cannot set the set the RQ's on any other pass type except: PASS_SCENE
You cannot set colour on any other pass except: PASS_CLEAR
You cannot set colour on any other pass except: PASS_CLEAR
[Game Engine]: Camera Manager: Creating and initialising the Camera Manager.
[Game Engine]: Camera Manager: initialisation completed successfully!
Connecting Render Target: #0 to node: EditorRender_Final#0
Connecting Compositor node: EditorRender_Start to node: SSAO_RenderNode
Connecting Compositor node: SSAO_RenderNode to node: HdrPostprocessingNode
Connecting Compositor node HdrPostprocessingNode#0 to node: EditorRender_Final#1
[Game Engine]: Render Manager: Initialising Post FX
[Game Engine]: Render Manager: All Systems ok!
[Resource System]: Loading Resource lists ....
[Resource System]: Loading Resource lists took: 0.046 seconds.
[Game Engine]: Initialing Game State Machine
[Game Engine]: Initialising Audio System.
[Game Engine]: Initialising Audio System. Successful.
[Game Engine]: Physics System : PhysX: Initialising
SKYLINE: LibRocket Plugin: Initialising...
SKYLINE: LibRocket Plugin: Initialised successfully
Error: Material is invalid. Use datablock now. Defaulting Particle Material to basic unlit.
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
Error: Particle Datablock does not exist. setAnimatedMaterial()
#&255,255,255: Aurasoft UK Presents
#&255,255,255: Skyline Game Engine - Lite Version
#&127,160,255: Skyline Version :: 1.1.2.0 - Booting complete!
Checking Scene File for version validity. Please give a few seconds on a large scene file.
Check Report: Scene File is up-to-date. No actions required.


|-----------------------------------------------------------
| LOADING LEVEL [XML]
|-----------------------------------------------------------

LOADING Binary: Security Settings
LOADING XML: Priority Settings
LOADING XML: SHADOW Settings
LOADING XML: Folders
LOADING XML: Scene Entities
Error: Missing Texture!
Material H_Tree_A2_Bark1 Cannot locate texture of name [bark2_nmp_BC5.dds] in resource lists

LOADING XML: Scene Settings
LOADING XML: Terrain Road Settings
LOADING XML: CAMERA Settings
LOADING XML: Load Bookmarks
LOADING XML: Post Effects
LOADING XML: Navmesh Settings
LOADING XML: Scene Sky Env Settings

|-----------------------------------------------------------
| LOAD LEVEL COMPLETED [XML]
|-----------------------------------------------------------
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 01 Jan 2019, 17:15

I tried the links you provided and installed the software. I had to re-install skyline because there was a DLL missing. When I re-installed Skyline, it asked for the MS VB C++ 2013 version. I uninstalled the 2015 (and all other versions) and installed 2013. I still get the same error.
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Jan 2019, 00:40

i shall respond tomorrow hopefully with an answer.. it sounds like something we have encountered before, but we are currently on break from work :)
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 02 Jan 2019, 16:19

Break!?

C'mon!

:D ;) :lol: :D


Seriously, here is what I have at work and it works.

I am going to double check my home settings
Attachments
C++ thingy.JPG
C++ thingy.JPG (109.6 KiB) Viewed 225 times
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 02 Jan 2019, 20:29

Q) Have you got the latest dx11.1 updates from windows for your OS version:

Install the Platform Update for Windows 7: https://www.microsoft.com/en-gb/downloa ... x?id=36805 ( this gives DX11 version 11.1 )
Update the CRT library for your version of windows: https://support.microsoft.com/en-au/hel ... in-windows


Another thing to try is instead of loading a scene, start a new scene and if this crashes aswell, then it is most likely a DX11 conflict with win7.

Also, once ran and you have it crash..please send me both the:

* Skyline.log
* Skyline_TechSupport.txt

from the "C:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win(XX)" (replace the (XX) with the version you of skyline you ran, if 64bit version of skyline, the Win64)
Both files are needed :)

Other Questions:
Q) Are you using 32bit or 64bit windows....

We look forward to hearing from you and apologize for the delay in response times due to the holidays :)
We shall do our best to get skyline working for you..
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 09 Jan 2019, 01:37

I loaded the truck and terrain scene with no issues. I am running DX 11
Attachments
Skyline_TechSupport.txt
(4.49 KiB) Downloaded 2 times
Skyline.log
(132.29 KiB) Downloaded 5 times
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 09 Jan 2019, 11:09

hmm, according to the log, you are running in OpenGL and it is encountering a shader error.
GLSL compile log: gorilla2DVPGLSL


So please try this:

Goto the win32 folder inside "C:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win32" or "C:\Aurasoft UK\Skyline Game Engine\Bin\Win64" if you are on a pro version.

Delete the "Skyline.cfg" file.

boot skyline again and when the box appears, just select gl then reselect DX11 to ensure it activates the correct one just in case there is a bug.

This will then load the engine in DX11.

p.s. Q) What gfx card are you using?
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 10 Jan 2019, 02:47

Hi

Deleting .CFG did not help. I am using an AMD Radeon HD6530 display adapter. I know; it's a P.O.S. I am going to update my driver and see if that might help. But I think you're going to tell me it's the display card?
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 10 Jan 2019, 11:23

thats a shame it didnt help... could you send the crashed out skyline logs with the dx11 trick... just want to make sure it isnt just a gl issue.

on the contrary, even though the card may be slow... according to specs on it, it has the necessary requirements to run skyline.
Support DX11 11.2 and opengl 4.4.
https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/radeon-hd-6530.c2361
The shader errors are a possible cause of an older card not supporting the modern shader features.

From what i am getting, you are able to render something, but when its something specific it fails...

To really help show what problem you are facing, would you be able to record a video of boot to crash, and then post the applicable logs after. This would give us the best ability to help fix your problem :D

Again, thank you for your patience and we will do everything we can to help you.
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby Blick Fang » 12 Jan 2019, 03:40

The extension mp4 is not allowed.
Blick Fang
Skyline Novice
 
Posts: 9
Joined: 30 Dec 2018, 19:37

Re: C++ Run Time Error

Postby SolarPortal » 12 Jan 2019, 17:35

mp4 is not allowed due to the licensing at play with the mpeg format..
for video we use the open source ogg and vorbis format.. there are a couple converters out there to convert your mp4 to ogg
Conceive, Quantify & Do!
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Developer.
Please provide as much information as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 3770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3116
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Skyline Editor

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron