This is where fixed bugs can be seen. Please do not post new bugs into this forum, it is purely to see what has been fixed and most topics will be locked.

Several Crashes (FIXED)

Several Crashes (FIXED)

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 11:09

Hey, I played around with Skyline a bit an I already got Several Crashes:

Camera in Orbit mode: Clicking an Entity while orbiting another.

Random at dragging (a preshipped) Asset to the Scene. Can't remember which, so can't reproduce.

Clicking an Entity in the left menu while playing the Scene in the editor (Tested BotArena2).

Dragging a mesh into the Entity List
Last edited by PaRaDoXoS on 29 Mar 2016, 11:27, edited 1 time in total.
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Several Crashes

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Mar 2016, 11:20

Thanks, we are disabling camera orbit mode as it does not work.

For the random drag crash it would be good to have a reproducible error :)

Clicking a normal model type entity should not crash but lights do I believe.

Thanks for your input, we will fix what we can :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Several Crashes

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 11:30

in BotArena clicking a bot lead to a crash.

just dragged ogre to the scene -> no problem.
dragged to entity list -> crash.
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Several Crashes

Postby SolarPortal » 29 Mar 2016, 11:32

Thanks. You can't drag to entity list yet so this is definitely a bug. Thanks again :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Several Crashes

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 29 Mar 2016, 14:29

Not reproducable crash: generate Terrain (after removing it)

Edit model material of vegetation (reproducable)
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Several Crashes

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 11 Apr 2016, 09:57

Wow... found a few reproducable ones, that I really find critical. Some Lua-Functions can cause scripts to stop (annoying, but debuggable). BUT: some Lua-Errors couse the Editor to crash in Play-The-Game-Mode. This is reproducable. Here those which I found. Will extend the List when I find more:

Code: Select all
ray.raycastToCursor();
selid = entity.getLastHitID();


Crashes when clicking into background.

Code: Select all
entity.getPosition(0);


Crashes Editor for non-existing entity-id

Code: Select all
sky.lprint(nil);


script stops.
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Several Crashes

Postby SolarPortal » 11 Apr 2016, 10:37

great finds :) will look at these before the release :)
Skyline Game Engine - Lead Dev.
Please provide as much info as possible when asking for help.


Specs: OS: Win 10 64bit, CPU: Intel i7 4770 3.4ghz x 4 core(8 threads), GPU: Nvidia GTX 1060 6GB, Ram: 16gig DDR3, Windows on 250gb Samsung Evo 860

Twitter: @SolarPortal
Instagram: @SolarPortal
User avatar
SolarPortal
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 3631
Joined: 29 Jul 2012, 15:56
Location: UK
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Programmer
Skill: Level Designer

Re: Several Crashes

Postby PaRaDoXoS » 13 Apr 2016, 08:35

3 other snippets, that crash:
Code: Select all
entity.setPosition(0,*,*,*);

Code: Select all
entity.getMaterialName(0,*);

Code: Select all
entity.getMaterialName(eid,-1); -- Runetime-Error, then Editor Crash

what works:
Code: Select all
entity.getMesh(0);

Code: Select all
entity.getMaterialName(eid,5); -- submesh5 non-existent

Code: Select all
entity.getName(0);

Code: Select all
entity.getTagFromID(0);
PhenomII 2,8GHz, GeForce9600GT, 16GB DDR3, SSD, old but still works
User avatar
PaRaDoXoS
Skyline Apprentice
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 17 Mar 2016, 07:54
Location: Germany

Re: Several Crashes

Postby CreativeOcclusion » 13 Apr 2016, 18:29

@PaRaDoXoS
Good job finding all of these crashes...This will make the engine more stable for the future...
Thanks, CreativeOcclusion
User avatar
CreativeOcclusion
Skyline Warrior
 
Posts: 366
Joined: 22 Jun 2015, 19:34
Location: Texas

Re: Several Crashes

Postby StarFire » 14 Apr 2016, 18:03

Thanks for the Bugz. :geek:

Fixed: No check where an object existed.
Code: Select all
ray.raycastToCursor();
selid = entity.getLastHitID();


Fixed.Invalid IDs should now be stable. This is all entity.method() as they all contained this potential invalid id crash. This should clear all of the remaining entity id crashes.
Code: Select all
entity.getPosition(0);

entity.setPosition(0,*,*,*);



Fixed out of ranges sub indexes.
Code: Select all
entity.getMaterialName(0,*);


No Problem here. Did a test and in my update loop with a screen print directly after and this worked fine.
Incorrect use of some lua with halt scripts as they are broken, need good compiler checker to get around this. May be some one wants to write a QTScintilla editor for us :P
Code: Select all
sky.lprint(nil);


All have been tested with new checks in place and now stable. I am sure there are a few more of these dotted around. Some are due to core changes that have taken place to improve the scene list. We have been talking about upgrading a system wide change to the checks and balances as we have seen areas where we may be able to get some better performance and create a stronger debug system. But all of this will be a while off so for now we will keep fixing commandsaas you find them for us.
Good hunting ParaDoXos :D
Dream the Journey, Live the Experience!
User avatar
StarFire
Skyline Founder
Skyline Founder
 
Posts: 1678
Joined: 03 Jan 2012, 18:50
Location: UK
Skill: Great creative
Skill: Programmer
Skill: 3D Modeller
Skill: 2D Artist
Skill: Level Designer


Return to Fixed Bugs

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest